The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Last week I read The girl with the dragon tattoo by Stieg Larsson. I always had an interest in reading it, mostly because I want my own dragon tattoo at some point. I had never really gotten around to it, but my co-worker told me I had to read it ASAP. So after about a month of waiting for a library copy to free up I finally got it.

Personally I thought the first 100 pages or so started really slow, and I had trouble figuring out who it was talking about because it jumped around so much. The story started to pick up and by the second half I couldn’t put it down. I’d rate it a 4 out of 5 simply because of the way it jumped between characters with nothing but an extra space between paragraphs.

About The Secret Librarian

I work at a public library. This stuff really happens. View all posts by The Secret Librarian

2 responses to “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

  • Ms. G

    i just started reading it and so far I would have to agree about how hard it is to get into the first portion of the novel. I almost thought, would it have helped the novel more if they had altered the characters names and locations because it is a detail which is soooo distracting. I guess the answer is NO, because it was on the NY bestsellers list. I can’t comment on anything else at this point, but I will when I am done with the book.

    • Jen R

      Yeah. My advice is to push through it. The whole trial thing in the beginning was horrendously confusing (esp bouncing between characters). Once that is over and it starts getting to the meat of the story it’s much easier to follow.

Leave a Reply

